The Attorney General and Clermont County Sheriff’s Office do not endorse any particular form of training or instructor. However, a list of Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission certified instructors who wish to teach classes to the general public is available from the Attorney General’s web site at http://www.ag.state.oh.us/. The Clermont County Sheriff’s Office website also lists instructors who have provided contact information to the Sheriff’s Office. (NOTE: These instructors are not affiliated with the Clermont County Sheriff’s Office, nor is the validity of their certification as NRA or OPOTC concealed carry instructors verified by our office. This information is listed on our website at the request of the instructors as a convenience to the public.)
EFFECTIVE NOVEMBER 5, 2018– Applicant’s who present an active duty ID or a form DD-214 showing an honorable discharge are exempt from the training requirement. The Sheriff’s Office will accept military experience with firearms as proof of competency with firearms regardless of when the applicant for a license acquired the experience.
The law sets out minimum educational requirements that are a component of the various forms of competency certification as set forth in the “Ohio’s Concealed Carry Law” booklet.
The total time required for training is 8 hours, 6 hours of classroom instruction and another 2 hours of experience shooting and handling a handgun.
The law requires 6 hours of classroom instruction in the following matters:
- The ability to name, explain, and demonstrate the rules for safe handling of a handgun and proper storage practices for handguns and ammunition
- The ability to demonstrate and explain how to handle ammunition in a safe manner
- The ability to demonstrate the knowledge, skills and attitude necessary to shoot a handgun in a safe manner
- Gun-handling training
Additionally, you must complete at least 2 hours of practical training including range time and live-fire experience
- The applicant must also complete an examination that tests competency:
- The test must include a written section on the ability to name and explain the rules for the safe handling of a handgun and proper storage practices for handguns and ammunition
- The exam must include a physical demonstration of competency on handgun usage and rules for safe handling and storage of a handgun, and an examination requiring the physical demonstration of the attitude necessary to shoot a handgun in a safe manner
- As part of the training, applicants must also receive and certify that they have reviewed a copy of the “Ohio’s Concealed Carry Law” booklet.
As an advisory to consumers, the Attorney General recommends anyone contemplating private handgun training take the following minimum steps before paying for any form of training:
- Verify the person teaching the class is qualified to teach.
- Confirm the instructor knows the requirements of the law
- Be certain the instructor will provide you with the “Ohio’s Concealed Carry Law” booklet.
- Verify whether a refund or additional training may be available if a county sheriff determines the course was incomplete when you apply.