With regard to the State of Ohio Application for License to Carry a Concealed Handgun, it is the intention of the Ohio Legislature that this law (RC 2923.125) is compliant with the National Instant Criminal Background check system. This system of checks contains disqualifiers not specifically enumerated in Section III and/or IV of the license Application.
If a disqualifier is found, your application will be denied.
Read this Federal Disqualifier Notice
MEDICAL MARIJUANA WARNING
EFFECTIVE September 8, 2016, Ohio House Bill 523 legalized medical marijuana in Ohio and created the Ohio Medical Marijuana Control Program (MMCP). The MMCP allows individuals with certain medical conditions to purchase and use medical marijuana upon the recommendation of an Ohio-licensed physician certified by the State Medical Board.
However, federal law (18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(3)) prohibits any person “who is an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance (as defined in section 102 of the Controlled Substances Act (21 U.S.C. 802))” from shipping, transporting, receiving, or possessing firearms or ammunition. Marijuana is listed in the federal controlled substances Act as a Schedule I controlled substance.
There are no exceptions in federal law for marijuana used for medical purposes – even if such use is sanctioned by state law.
Therefore, even if you are legally using medical marijuana under the MMPC, you may be denied an Ohio Concealed Handgun License and may be prohibited carrying a concealed handgun under federal law.
IMPORTANT SENATE BILL 81 INFORMATION
Senate Bill 81 allows for veterans to receive a no-cost CCW license. If you are an active, reserve, or retired member of the armed forces, or were honorably discharged, there is no fee to apply for a new or renewal license. You must present an active duty ID or a form DD-214 showing an “honorable discharge” at the time of application. NOTE: An applicant’s DD-214 must read “Honorable” or “Honorable Discharge” in the Character of Service box. “General Discharge”, “General Discharge Under Honorable Conditions”, or similar language does not meet the requirements of the Ohio Revised Code to obtain a fee free license. NOTE: The Attorney General monitors the number of license fees waived statewide and caps the total amount allowed to be waived at $1.5 million each year. When the funds are depleted statewide, the fee will no longer be waived until November 5th of the following year.
Senate Bill 81 allows any Ohio CCW license holder to renew their license at anytime before or after the expiration date.
Per Ohio Revised Code Section: 2923.125B1(a)iii:
EFFECTIVE APRIL 1, 2019
CONCEALED HANDGUN LICENSE PRICE INCREASE FOR APPLICANTS LIVING IN OHIO LESS THAN 5 CONSECUTIVE YEARS
Renewal of Concealed Handgun License for an applicant living in Ohio LESS THAN 5 CONSECUTIVE YEARS: $61.25
BE SURE TO DOWNLOAD THE UPDATED “RENEWAL APPLICANT INSTRUCTIONS” BELOW.
Note: These directions apply to the renewal process only.
New applicants must follow the directions on the concealed carry page.
Renewal Application Time Frame
Effective November 5, 2018 Senate Bill 81 allows any Ohio CCW license holder to renew their license at anytime before or after the expiration date.
NOTE: According to Ohio Revised Code 2923.126(A), a licensee who has been issued a license … shall be granted a grace period of thirty days after the licensee’s license expires during which the licensee’s license remains valid.
There is NO training required to renew your license, regardless of how long ago it expired.
Renewal Application Process
IMPORTANT NOTE: A recent change in Ohio law prevents an applicant from obtaining a license if convicted of ANY degree of Domestic Violence (Ohio Revised Code 2919.25). Renewal Applicants will be denied a license if their record shows a conviction under Ohio Revised Code 2919.25 .
We stop accepting applications PROMPTLY at 4:00 p.m.
AT TIMES, CONCEALED HANDGUN LICENSE APPLICATION CAN BE EXTREMLY HIGH.
APPLICANTS ARRIVING AT OUR OFFICE IN THE LATE AFTERNOON MAY BE TURNED AWAY TO ALLOW OUR CLERKS TO SERVE THE CURRENT CUSTOMERS BEFORE THE END OF BUSINESS AT 4:00 PM.
YOU ARE HIGHLY ENCOURAGED TO ARRIVE AT OUR OFFICE EARLIER IN THE DAY TO RECEIVE SERVICE.
- PRINT all required information on the application, and sign where indicated. Applicants must come to our Office at 4470 State Route 222, Batavia OH, 45103 to renew and receive their license. No appointment is necessary. It is NOT necessary to attach a photograph to your renewal application.
- It is NOT necessary to attach a copy of your training certificate to your renewal application. Present your valid or expired Ohio Concealed Carry License with your application. No additional firearms training is required to renew your license.
- If you are a retired peace officer, retired state trooper, or retired federal law enforcement officer, there is no renewal fee (bring in a letter or other documentation verifying retirement).
Active members of the armed forces and retired and honorably discharged veterans: the Sheriff’s Office will waive the concealed handgun license application fee for active members of the armed forces and retired and honorably discharged veterans who present an active duty ID or a form DD-214 showing an “honorable discharge”. The Sheriff’s Office will accept military experience with firearms as proof of competency with firearms regardless of when the applicant for a license acquired the experience. NOTE: The Attorney General will monitor the number of license fees waived statewide and cap the total amount allowed to be waived at $1.5 million each year. When the funds are depleted statewide, the fee will no longer be waived until November 5th of the following year. NOTE: An applicant’s DD-214 must read “Honorable” or “Honorable Discharge” in the Character of Service box. “General Discharge”, “General Discharge Under Honorable Conditions”, or similar language does not meet the requirements of the Ohio Revised Code to obtain a fee free license.
- Applicants who have been residents of Ohio for FIVE CONSECUTIVE YEARS OR MORE must pay a NON-Refundable $50.00 renewal fee with the application in the form of cash (exact amount), money order, or cashiers/certified check (NO uncertified personal or business checks will be accepted).
If you have not been an Ohio resident FOR THE LAST FIVE CONSECUTIVE YEARS, the NON-refundable renewal application fee is $60.00 (see above price increase note- effective April 1, 2019) . Make the money orders or certified/cashier checks payable to: CCSO CCW License Fund.
If you are a resident of another state employed in Clermont, Brown, Clinton, Hamilton, or Warren County, you may renew your non-resident license by providing current verification (paystub or employer letter) of employment in Clermont County or an adjoining county, and paying a NON-refundable application fee of $60.00 (exact amount). Make the money order/certified/cashier’s check payable to: CCSO CCW License Fund.
- APPLICATION HOURS ARE:
Monday thru Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. (excluding Holidays & other posted dates).
No appointment is necessary.
Applicants will have their application processed on a first come-first served basis. Applicants must bring a state issued photo ID (e.g. driver’s license) and your Ohio Concealed Handgun License. Applicants will receive their issued license by U.S. Postal Mail, delivered to the address of your choice.Application volume has been extemely high. DO NOT CALL OUR OFFICE to check on your status unless you fail to hear from us or receive your mailed license for 45 days. Ohio law allows up to 45 days for processing applications; we make every effort to complete the process as quickly as possible.NOTE: Before submitting your application and NON-refundable fee you should, to the extent possible, insure you are legally qualified to receive a concealed carry license. Ohio’s law contains a number of disqualifying factors, primarily for reasons of residency, training, and criminal history. We can’t provide legal advice or assessment of individual applications. If you have doubt about your qualifications, speak with an attorney.
New and Renewal Applications are accepted: Monday thru Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. (holidays and other posted dates excluded)
No Appointment is necessary.
To Apply: Download BOTH of the below documents:
Concealed Handgun License Application
Applications are NOT Accepted on the Following dates:
New Year’s Day (Observed) – Tuesday January 1, 2019
Martin Luther King Jr. Day – Monday January 21, 2019
President’s Day – Monday February 18, 2019
Memorial Day – Monday May 27, 2019
Independence Day – Thursday July 4, 2019
Labor Day – Monday September 2, 2019
Veterans’ Day (Observed) – Monday November 11, 2019
Thanksgiving Day – Thursday, November 28, 2019
Friday after Thanksgiving – November 29, 2019
Christmas –Wednesday, December 25th, 2019