With regard to the State of Ohio Application for License to Carry a Concealed Handgun, it is the intention of the Ohio Legislature that this law (RC 2923.125) is compliant with the National Instant Criminal Background check system. This system of checks contains disqualifiers not specifically enumerated in Section III and/or IV of the license Application.
If a disqualifier is found, your application will be denied.
MEDICAL MARIJUANA WARNING
EFFECTIVE September 8, 2016, Ohio House Bill 523 legalized medical marijuana in Ohio and created the Ohio Medical Marijuana Control Program (MMCP). The MMCP allows individuals with certain medical conditions to purchase and use medical marijuana upon the recommendation of an Ohio-licensed physician certified by the State Medical Board.
However, federal law (18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(3)) prohibits any person “who is an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance (as defined in section 102 of the Controlled Substances Act (21 U.S.C. 802))” from shipping, transporting, receiving, or possessing firearms or ammunition. Marijuana is listed in the federal controlled substances Act as a Schedule I controlled substance.
There are no exceptions in federal law for marijuana used for medical purposes – even if such use is sanctioned by state law.
Therefore, even if you are legally using medical marijuana under the MMPC, you may be denied an Ohio Concealed Handgun License and may be prohibited carrying a concealed handgun under federal law.
IMPORTANT SENATE BILL 81 INFORMATION
Senate Bill-81 which allows for veterans to receive a no-cost CCW license is effective beginning Monday, November 5th, 2018. If you are an active, reserve, or retired member of the armed forces, or were honorably discharged, there is no fee to apply for a new or renewal license. You must present an active duty ID or a copy of your form DD-214 showing an honorable discharge at the time of application. NOTE: An applicant’s DD-214 must read “Honorable” or “Honorable Discharge” in the Character of Service box. “General Discharge”, “General Discharge Under Honorable Conditions”, or similar language does not meet the requirements of the Ohio Revised Code to obtain a fee free license.
The Attorney General monitors the number of license fees waived statewide and caps the total amount allowed to be waived at $1.5 million each year. When the funds are depleted statewide, the fee will no longer be waived until November 5th of the following year.
Senate Bill 81 also allows a CCW license holder to renew their license at anytime before or after the expiration date.
APPLICATION HOURS ARE:
Monday thru Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. (excluding Holidays).
No appointment is necessary.
APPLICATION HOURS ARE MONDAY TO FRIDAY FROM 9 AM TO 4 PM
CONCEALED HANDGUN LICENSE APPLICATION VOLUME CAN BE HIGH. APPLICANTS ARRIVING AT OUR OFFICE AT MID OR LATE AFTERNOON MAY BE TURNED AWAY TO ALLOW OUR CLERKS TO SERVE THE CURRENT CUSTOMERS BEFORE THE END OF BUSINESS AT 4:00 PM. YOU ARE HIGHLY ENCOURAGED TO ARRIVE AT OUR OFFICE EARLIER IN THE DAY TO RECEIVE SERVICE.
After applying, DO NOT call to check on the status of your Concealed Handgun License unless it has been 45 days from your application date. The Ohio Revised Code allows the Sheriff up to 45 days to issue and mail licenses.
New Year’s Day (Observed) – Tuesday January 1, 2019
Martin Luther King Jr. Day – Monday January 21, 2019
President’s Day – Monday February 18, 2019
Memorial Day – Monday May 27, 2019
Independence Day – Thursday July 4, 2019
Labor Day – Monday September 2, 2019
Veterans’ Day (Observed) – Monday November 11, 2019
Thanksgiving Day – Thursday, November 28, 2019
Friday after Thanksgiving – November 29, 2019
Christmas –Wednesday, December 25th, 2019
Online training courses for a Virginia concealed carry license are NOT VALID to apply for an Ohio Concealed Handgun License.
Regarding Ohio concealed handgun license training, Ohio Revised Code 2923.125 G (1) states:
“Each such course, class, or program…shall include at least eight hours of training in the safe handling and use of a firearm”, and also specifies that:
“A minimum of two hours of in-person training that consists of range time and live-fire training” is required in that 8 hour total.
The NRA “Basics of Pistol Shooting”online course is 8 hours in length, and DOES meet the requirement of the Ohio Revised Code when the student ALSO completes a minimum of two hours of in-person training that consists of range time and live-fire training.
Any online concealed carry license training certificate must document a MINIMUM of six hours of training, and be accompanied by a certificate documenting a minimum of TWO HOURS or more of in person handgun training with an instructor. A single certificate documenting both 6 or more hours of online training AND 2 or more hours of in person handgun training is also acceptable.
Per Ohio Revised Code Section: 2923.125B1(a)iii:
EFFECTIVE APRIL 1, 2019
CONCEALED HANDGUN LICENSE PRICE INCREASE FOR APPLICANTS LIVING IN OHIO LESS THAN 5 CONSECUTIVE YEARS
New Concealed Handgun License for an applicant living in Ohio LESS THAN 5 CONSECUTIVE YEARS: $78.25
The legal requirements for a concealed handgun license issued by the
Clermont County Sheriff are:
Applicants will have their fingerprints taken for a record check, and license data entered into the computer at the time they submit their application on a first come-first served basis.
NOTE: Applicants must provide a color passport style photo of their face (approx. 2″ x 2″, head & shoulders only) taken within the past 30 days, attached to the application. NO candid ‘cutout’ photos will be accepted.
Applicants must appear in person for the process, and must bring a government issued photo ID (ex: driver’s license, state ID, passport).
Applicants will receive their issued license by U.S. Postal Mail, delivered to the address of your choice.
PLEASE DO NOT CALL to check on the status of your application after we have received it unless you fail to hear from us/or receive your mailed license for 45 days. If you were fingerprinted at the jail as part of the application process, your license completion time will be longer than if processed with an electronic WebCheck fingerprint. Ohio law allows up to 45 days for processing applications, although we make every effort to complete the process as quickly as possible.
After receiving your concealed handgun license, please be aware of the following information:
$ 5.00 Replace damaged license – damaged license turned in; duplicate card printed.
$15.00 Replace a lost or stolen license – complete affidavit of loss/theft (provided by our office), process new license with photo & signature, assign new license number, modify license number in law enforcement computer.
If you wish to obtain a replacement Concealed Handgun License displaying your new address, you must apply in person on the application dates and times listed above. The cost is $15.00 – (Modify record in CHL computer with new address, print replacement license, enter new address information in law enforcement computer). Payment must be in cash (exact amount), money order, or cashier’s/certified check (NO uncertified personal or business checks are accepted). Make the money order/certified or cashier’s check payable to: CCSO CCW License Fund.
Ohio law requires you to notify the Sheriff’s Office at which you obtained your Concealed Handgun License within 45 days after an address change. Address changes sent by email are not accepted.
NOTE: You must notify the Sheriff’s Office that issued your license, NOT the Sheriff’s Office in your new resident county.
Clermont County license holders may download an address change form (Acrobat PDF File) and send by U.S. Mail to:
Clermont County Sheriff’s Office
Attn: Concealed Carry License
4470 State Route 222
Batavia, Ohio 45103-9777
This process, required by law, modifies the record held by our agency in the event you need to be contacted regarding a suspension, revocation, or administrative purpose. Note: you will not receive a confirmation from us that your change of address was received.
Issued Licenses are valid for 5 years from the date printed on the license.
An Ohio Concealed Handgun License (CHL) may be renewed no more than 90 days before the expiration date printed on the license, and at any time after expiration.
Visit the Concealed Handgun License Renewal Page
The Ohio Attorney General’s website contains an information page including the required reading booklet “Ohio’s Concealed Carry Law“, Frequently Asked Questions, and an Instructor search index.
To learn about reciprocity with other states, click here.
More information regarding the concealed carry law may be obtained at www.OhioCCW.org or www.buckeyefirearms.org These organizations are not affiliated with the Clermont County Sheriff’s Office, nor is the accuracy of their website content verified by our office.
NOTE: These concealed handgun training providers are not affiliated with the Clermont County Sheriff’s Office, nor is the validity of their certification as NRA or OPOTC instructors verified by our office. This partial instructor list is on our website at the request of the below instructors as a convenience to the public.
A VALID CONCEALED HANDGUN LICENSE COURSE IS 8 HOURS IN DURATION:
6 HOURS OF CLASSROOM INSTRUCTION AND 2 HOURS OF LIVE FIRE RANGE INSTRUCTION.
SUBMITTING A FRAUDULENT TRAINING CERTIFICATE WITH A CONCEALED HANDGUN LICENSE APPLICATION IS A FELONY CRIMINAL OFFENSE ( O.R.C. 2921.13C ).
Review the Minimum Educational Requirements before enrolling in a training course
If you discover an invalid link, email address or phone number in the instructor list, please notify the webmaster.